Stories @ TCAT

Tennessee Colleges of Applied Technology - Crossville, Harriman, Jacksboro, Livingston and Oneida/Huntsville came together on Friday, January 24, 2020 to host a Legislative Luncheon honoring area legislators. The event was held at the TCAT Huntsville campus.  SkillsUSA students of TCAT – Oneida/Huntsville greeted and served the guests. TCAT - Oneida/Huntsville President Dwight Murphy opened the program by welcoming the guests followed by TCAT Oneida/Huntsville Post-Secondary Cosmetology student Ashtyn Hambright welcoming the guests from the student body. Followed directly by Tennessee Board of Regents (TBR) Chancellor Flora Tydings addressing those in attendance concerning the “TBR Legislative Agenda” and introduced State Legislators and TBR Staff. TCAT Presidents spoke on “Happenings at the TCATs”.  Also speaking was TCAT- Jacksboro Machine Tool Technology student Keoni Gaillard.  Questions and discussions were entertained by TBR and the TCAT Presidents. The meeting ended with comments from the legislators. 
Honored guests were Representative Dennis Powers, Representative Kent Calfee, Representative Kelly Keisling, and United States Representative Chuck Fleischmann’s Field Representative Tammy Merritt. Representing the board office were TBR Chancellor Dr. Flora Tydings, TBR Vice Chancellor for External Affairs Kim McCormick, TBR Assistant Vice Chancellor Kristin Velloff, TBR Coordinator of Government Relations Chuck Grimes, TBR Regent Weston Wamp and TBR Government Relations Intern Bjorn Koxvold.          
Also present were President Dwight Murphy of TCAT-Oneida/Huntsville, President Cliff Wightman of TCAT-Crossville, President Danice Turpin of TCAT-Harriman, President Debbie Petree of TCAT-Jacksboro, and President Myra West of TCAT-Livingston. Vice Presidents in attendance were Amy West TCAT Oneida/Huntsville, Stacy Johnson TCAT-Crossville, and Chris Ayers TCAT-Harriman. Other guests were Fentress County Executive Jimmy Johnson, Campbell County Mayor E.L. Morton, Morgan County Executive Brian Langley, Overton County Mayor Ben Danner, Campbell County Chamber Director Christie Elkins, Roane County CTE Director Lance Duff, Scott County CTE Director Keith Shannon, Morgan County CTE Director Dr. Dan Shoemaker, Alvin C. York Institute CTE Director Sam Brown, Alvin C. York Institute Director Dr. Joe Miller, Scott County Schools Director Bill Hall, and TCAT-Oneida/Huntsville Institutional Advisory Committee Chair Greg Jeffers. 
 SkillsUSA student greeters and servers were Ashtyn Hambright, Joey Ward, and Jordan Watson.